Tell Me

Tell me what you wanted to say. 

Make it as good as when you practiced it in the mirror when you convinced yourself it was the right thing to do. 

Was my reaction everything you expected it would be?

Tell me what you wanted to say.

Dig into the deepest breath you can take and release me from the chambers of your heart. Filter the blood you and I shared and push me out like a plague in your platelets. 

Take another drink. Dilute your body with the high spirits just so that you can drown out the sounds of your own voice saying goodbye. 

Your words float in the air between us and fall flat on the ground with a heavy thud, like the sound of a shoe stomping on a little bug.

Leave a Reply

