It Would Always Be You

​Water ran down my neck and onto my back as I forced my face through the cascade. This shower was not the first I had with you, nor would it be the last. But as my palm hit the wall in front of me for balance, my mind, which was racing, went blank. It was you. It would always be you. Water washed away the doubt. Presented purity. Raw. Beautiful. Love. I left my head underneath the waterfall and let the silence consume me once more before I turned to meet your eyes. You didn’t understand my stare. Puzzled, you grabbed my neck with your left hand and pulled me in and kissed my forehead. You combed my hair with your right hand until I blinked. It was you. It would always be you.

Leave a Reply

