Egress 

All my life I have whispered to myself before bed to ease the hurt. Wrote in a journal to understand the pain. But when he left, there was only a physical reaction they don’t teach you in sports or school. This is not biology. This requires no rational. My soul ached like it had been snatched, pulled from the chest and ripped as far away from my body like a shirt that I dangled from – fingers of the soul gripping my physical being. Then, like a rubber band, snapped back in as a reality-check to not lose my soul in another.

Leave a Reply

