Leaving

We systematically sway to the unannounced turns of the mountain road.

The moon is full and crisp tonight. Like a first communion offering from the Gods.

I indulge. Whisper to the window my sins and my breath allows me to see my soul. My purpose was reawakened in the past months. Tomorrow I leave that world.

I watch the fog slowly disappear as fast as this adventure has lasted. Grounded. Forever wandering this earth with someone else’s purpose.

I release heavy tears unable to forgive myself of letting go. Why leave? You’re happy here.

Even in this bus full of strangers. You’re comfortable. Happy now. Don’t let it slip away.

Like a book that I’ve finished, I crave the next line of the series. Hopeful that my palms will sweat with anticipation. Nerves flowing with the adrenaline of a full heart. Feet weightless like that of a cliff jumper teetering on the edge. I pulse with the page in my hand, ruthless for truth.

My adventure has changed route. A new ticket in my hand with the name of a soul unfamiliar. Breathe easy says the reflection in the bus window. Teach this soul to be loved wherever it may be seen next.

Be comforted between the full moons and the days that have passed. Growing this soul into your skin has been the biggest challenge.

Lock your hands in praise. Lift your heart and be grateful. Open your mouth and accept the offering. The full moon’s gift of rebirth.

 

 

Leave a Reply

