I left my love at the airport

I left my love at the airport

They say the baggage was never claimed.

I must have forgotten to write my address

To the lover of which I stayed.

 

I left my love at the airport

Where kisses whizzed past each other

to reach their destination.

Rumor has it, mine just sat at a mobile phone

charging station.

 

I left my love at the airport

Riding the escalators by itself,

Never turning to look behind

to see I was walking out.

 

I left my love at the airport

Trapped between the whole world and one

small town

Scared to exit the world of adventure

and put its feet on the ground.

 

I left my love at the airport

To be picked up at a later time

But the Lyft driver cancelled

And for now, at least,

My love learns how to fly.

 

-Jasmine N. Duran

Leave a Reply

